September 2020

01/10/2020

With my cycling, yet again, the highlight of the month was setting a new 10mile TT by 17 seconds. I've really been trying to work on tucking in my head and shoulders to stay as aero as possible on my TT bike and I think that was the main difference to give me a new PB. I set out a bit too hard on the TT (if I'd have kept it up, I'd have got a 55 second PB) but still managed to hold on to post a good time. I also focussed on putting out more power in the right areas (predominantly into headwind and on the inclines).

However, I've also been receiving expert advice on my body positioning on my TT bike and, as a result of this, I'm now on the lookout for a new, bigger TT bike, which should allow me to get more aero and to open up my hip angle even more to allow me to generate more power. The bike I have my eye on is the 2021 Giant Trinity Advanced Pro TT bike - one of the largest on the market. I'm optimistic that this new bike will see large improvements in my bike times and powers. For the meantime, I've got a longer stem for my current bike.

With regards to swimming, with the pools fully open again, I've used September to really work on my technique, doing lots of drill work. My stroke seems to be improving very quickly now that I'm spending plenty of time working on it. My running has also been going well but I've not had a chance to test myself out in swimming or running as of yet in a competitive situation.

Hopefully it shouldn't be too much longer of a wait for my first competitive multisport race of the year, as I'm due to race at the Clumber Park Duathlon on October 24th.

Elsewhere, with 2021 races beginning to be released, I have entered my first ever middle distance triathlon at the 113 Cotswold Classic in July. I'm really looking forward to this. And, going forward, this is now what I'm working towards with my training.

Jack Powis | All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started