March 2021

31/03/2021

The end of March saw, at long last, a return to racing in the form of a 10 mile TT at Castle Combe. It was my first time out on a new bike and in a new skin suit and I was pleased to get an 18 second PB and a power PB in what was perfect conditions for time trialling. My pacing was pretty good and I'm looking forward to trying to get that time down a bit over the coming season.

The end of March also saw the reopening of the lakes for open-water swimming. However, I haven't yet taken my first dip due to the the cold temperature being too cold for me to be able to properly focus on my technique. So I am just going to hold off 2 more weeks until the indoor pools reopen before I get back in the water and start cracking down on my swimming.

With regards to running, I have had some good interval sessions this month but, unfortunately, I have hat a bit of a niggle in my glute the last couple of weeks to I have eased of the intense sessions a bit so hopefully it will clear soon.

I have also planned out the races for my season, with my first duathlon coming up at the start of April at the BUCS university championships. I've then got 2 sprint triathlons in May, including the BUCS triathlon championships. Then, I've got the Leeds triathlon world qualifier in June, my first Half Ironman in July and, finally the World Triathlon Championships in Edmonton, Canada, in August. I look forward to the season and finally getting back in the water in April.


Jack Powis | All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started