February 2021

27/02/2021

My training during February went pretty well but, of course, there was a lack of swimming.

Due to no swimming at the moment, my weekly running mileage has gone up to 50 miles a week on the hard weeks, with every 4th week easy. I'm feeling good, considering the increase in mileage, and am still hitting good times on my interval sessions, without feeling too fatigued or having any niggles.

Pretty much all of my cycling in February took place inside, however, I am looking forward to getting outside a bit more as we head into the hopefully sunny weather of Spring. I've had a new Giant TT bike since the start of winter, but it still hasn't been ridden outside, so I'm looking forward to trying the new bike out when I get the opportunity. I have also entered a 10 mile TT race for the very end of March, so I look forward to that. Hopefully it will go ahead.

To make up for the lack of swimming, I have been doing lots of additional land training, alongside my existing core workouts. This has mainly consisted of resistance band work and body-weight exercises. hopefully all of this work will be beneficial for when we all eventually return to the pool once again.

Looking, forward, as it stands, my first race which I have entered is a local sprint distance triathlon at Westonbirt, at the very end of May. Other than that, I am entered in several other races including the AJ Bell Leeds Standard Distance triathlon at the start of June, my first ever middle distance triathlon at the Cotswold Water Park in mid-July, and my main race will still be the world championships in Edmonton in August. I'm just keeping my head down and building up to the season and hopefully, when it arrives, the long wait to race will be worth it,

Jack Powis | All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started