August 2021

30/08/2021

August was a solid month of training for me, with no major triathlon events. The main performance of note was my first ever 25mile cycling TT, which I completed in 54 minutes. I was pleased with this result as it wasn't much slower than my 10 mile PB speed. it was a great high-class field with many Paralympians, who were getting ready for Tokyo, including many big names, such as Sarah Storey. I finished 6th out of 36.

I also competed in a 3.8km swim race - my first swim race of that distance. I don't think I paced it that well as I smashed the first kilometre and then suffered a bit in the 2nd kilometre but managed to get on the feet of a training partner and finished pretty strong. I finished 14th out of 80 in a time of 56 mins.

Other than that, I've been putting in some good swim, bike and run sessions, with a few more brick sessions to get myself prepared for my next Half Ironman, which is at the Vitruvian on September 11th. I'm feeling strong and will hopefully put in a better performance than my first half Ironman. I'm going to try to learn from my experiences in my last race and pace it a bit better on the bike so I can perform strongly on the run.

My next race will likely be the last of this season. I will have a short break after the Vitruvian and then build towards a good bit of winter training with a good endurance focus. This will hopefully put me in good stead for a good few 70.3 races in the 2022 season and also get me well prepared for the standard distance world championships in Abu Dhabi in August.

Jack Powis | All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started