April 2021

27/04/2021

This month finally saw me return to multi-event racing with the BUCS sprint duathlon. This involved a 2mile run, 10mile bike and another 2 mile run to finish. It was great to be back racing and I was pleased to get my best time ever for that course. As always with BUCS racing, the running is fast and furious but I made back a bit of ground on the bike. I finished 19th in a good standard field. It was pretty cold - with a bit of snow in the air and fairly windy so okay conditions. I felt like I took a while to get into it on the first run and then felt pretty good on the bike and was happy with how I felt on the 2nd run as I strangely felt better than the first run. I'm relatively pleased with that for the first proper race of the season but I want to get a few more consistent running sessions in now to sharpen up my race pace.

 I am also looking forward to doing my first triathlon for ages, which will take place on Sunday. The swim will no doubt be rather chilly but I am used to the course at South Cerney lake 32 so I am quite comfortable with the race route. I have only braved the lakes once so far this year but have been smashing out the lengths in the pool so hopefully my swim won't be too shabby. Again, the standard will be good but I look forward to it.

I am looking forward to getting back into swimming with Stroud and Gloucester masters swimming clubs in May and hope that this will really help me get back to where I want to be in the pool. In addition to this, I have recently started back with my athletics group and am really enjoying being back doing sessions with people pushing you on. 

Next month's main event is the Eton Dorney World Qualifier sprint triathlon. I have always enjoyed the flat, fast course at Eton Dorney and look forward to competing there again in May.

Jack Powis | All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started